UB - University at Buffalo, The State University of New York Chemical and Biological Engineering
Photo of faculty member Takeuchi

Esther S. Takeuchi

Greatbatch Professor of Advanced Power Sources SUNY Distinguished Professor

510 Furnas Hall
(716) 645-1185
Fax: (716) 645-3822

Short bio Research Publications Home Page


Ph.D. Ohio State University Organic Chemistry 1981
B.A. University of Pennsylvania Chemistry, History 1975

Professional Experience

University at Buffalo
SUNY Distinguished Professor 2009 -
Professor, Chemical & Biological Engineering 2007-
Professor, Electrical Engineering 2007-
Greatbatch, Inc.
Chief Scientist, Center of Excellence 2006-2007
Executive Director, Battery Research & Development 1999-2006
Director, Electrochemical Research 1991-1999
Associate Director, Research & Development 1990-1991
Group Manager, Research & Development 1986-1990
Senior Chemist 1984-1986
State University of New York at Buffalo
Postdoctoral Research Associate 1983-1984
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Postdoctoral Research Associate 1982-1983
Union Carbide Corporation, S. Charleston, WV
Senior Chemist, Corporate Research Center 1981-1982

Honors and Awards

SUNY Distinguished Professor 2009
National Medal of Technology 2009
Life Time Achievement Award.  Presented by the Technical Societies Council of the Niagara Frontier and the Niagara Frontier Intellectual Property Law Association for contributions to advancement of science through intellectual property. 2007
Lincoln Gries Distinguished Alumni Award.  Presented by Old Trail School, Bath, Ohio, in recognition of outstanding alumni of Old Trail School.


USA Today, December 13, 2005.  Kevin Maney, "You Really Can Find Identities of Top Patent Holders."  "She (Esther Takeuchi) is indeed the most prolific female inventory." 2005
Inventor of the Year Award, Physical Sciences, 3rd Place Recipient.  Presented by The Technical Societies Council of the Niagara Frontier and the Niagara Frontier Intellectual Property Law Association for U.S. Patent 6,926,991. 2005
Pioneers of Science Award.  Presented by Hauptman-Woodward Medical Research Institute in recognition of development of new chemistries for use as sources of chemical energy in the development of components for medical devices. 2004
National Academy of Engineering.  For successfully developing silver vanadium oxide batteries for implantable cardiac defibrillators and lithium/carbon monofluoride cells to power implantable pacemakers. 2004
Woman of Distinction Award.  Presented by the Buffalo Branch of the American Association of University Women in recognition of professional accomplishments and promoting the advancement of women. 2003
Achievement in Health Care Award.  Presented by D'Youville College in recognition of developing power sources leading to vastly improved longevity of implantable human devices. 2003
Inventor of the Year Award, Physical Sciences, 1st and 3rd Place Recipient.  Presented by The Technical Societies Council of the Niagara Frontier and the Niagara Frontier Intellectual Property Law Association for U.S. Patents 6,063,526 and 6,153,338. 2000
Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering.  In recognition of outstanding contributions to the field of medical and biological engineering. 1999
68th Jacob F. Schoellkopf Medal.  Presented by the Western New York Section American Chemical Society in recognition of the development of advanced generation defibrillator batteries and lightweight pacemake batteries. 1998
Western New York Women's Hall of Fame.  In recognition of contributions in science and the societal impact of the contributions. 1998
Visionary of the Year, Wilson Greatbatch Ltd.  Presented in recognition of superior technical achievement in defibrillator battery development. 1997
Battery Division Technology Award, Electrochemical Society, 1995.  International award presented in recognition of outstanding contributions to the development and manufacture of lithium/silver vanadium oxide defibrillator batteries.  Received award in second year after inception.  First year award went to the inventors of the lithium ion battery. 1995
Woman of the Year, category Science.  Presented by Community Advisory Council, State University of New York at Buffalo. 1990

Professional Service

Elected Vice President of the Electrochemical Society 2008
Member, Search Committee for National Science Foundation Engineering Division Director 2006
Member, Division Review Committee for the Environmental Energy Technology Division Lawernce Berkeley National Laboratory.  Focused on the Department of Atmospheric Sciences and Department of Advanced Energy Technology. 2006
Member, National Institutes of Health Scientific Peer Review Group focused on SBIR submissions. 2006 - Present
American Association of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI), Member, Cardiac Rhythm Management Device Committee, Chair, Battery Sub-committee. 2005 - Present
National Academy of Engineering, Member, Committee on Education (2005-2007); Member, Bioengineering Section Peer Committee (2005-2007); Member, Committee on Membership (2005-2006); Chair, Bioengineering Section Peer Committee (2006). 2004 - Present
International Meeting on Lithium Batteries, Member, Technical Planning Committee 2004 - Present
Research Supervision at Greatbatch, Inc.  Supervised group of scientists, technicians and other professional and administrative employees in industrial research and development setting including BA/BS, MS and PhD levels.  Group size has ranged from 3 to 40 individuals 1986 - 2006
Electrochemical Society, Inc.  Member, Chairman, Research Award Committee, Battery Division (1989-1990); Member, Ways and Means Committee (1995-2000); Treasurer, Battery Division (1996-1998); Secretary, Battery Division (1999-2000); President, Battery Division (2001-2002); Member Technical Affairs Committee (2003-2005). 1984 - Present

Last Updated: April 2008